Nothing a good run can’t fix

Image

One of my New Year’s Resolutions was to run more. Since I’ve been back at school, I’ve tried to run 5 times a week. My class, work, homework and team schedule keep me crazy busy so sometimes it’s hard to fit in a run, especially when you’re just finishing your Physics homework at 11pm. Our campus gym doesn’t close until mid-night, which is nice, but by the time I get dressed, walk over, put my stuff in a locker and stretch, I’ve already lost about 15 minutes. I prefer to run on the indoor tracks that our gym has for many reason. 1. Our sidewalks around campus aren’t exactly in the best shape and there’s more than a 27% chance that you’ll fall into one of the pot holes that we call sidewalks. C’mon Purdue, get with it. 2. Snow has been covering the ground since November and I’m pretty sure that isn’t adequate terrain to run in/on. 3. When the snow melts, it likes to do this thing where it re-freezes and covers the sidewalks in ice. Even walking on those things is a death sentence. 4. It get pretty cold outside at night and I’m not trying to freeze my body part off. 5. I’ve had shin splints before and I definitely don’t want to get them again. So I’m going to run on my smooth track inside an air-conditioned building and just have to deal with my sadness about not being able to go outside (like running in air-conditioning is a problem. Ha!) and lastly 6. It’s dark outside. Like, why would I think it’s a good idea to go for a run when it’s pitch black and late? Momma didn’t raise no fool.

Image

I run at night mostly because that’s what works for my schedule. I figured out a schedule that would be most optimal for running. It’s called the 3-1-2-1 method. You workout (in my case run) for three days, take a day of, workout (run) for two more days, and then take a day off. For me personally, I run Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, take Thursday off since it’s my busiest/longest/most stressful school day, run Friday and Saturday and take Sunday off because Sunday is a day for rest. Rest and Jesus.

There’s nothing a good run can’t fix. It gives you time to free your mind, clear your thoughts and just escape. Or it could be a time to think, relax or release. For me, it’s all of the above. I ran 3 miles tonight and while my face is still beet red, I’ve never felt more confident. I pushed my body, both physically and mentally, to exhaustion. While it is draining, I’ve never felt better. I’m celebrating my run with a 70 calorie Mango protein smoothie. And let me tell you, it is the best thing ever.

Image

Have a great, productive week!

Xoxo,

K.

P.S. Below is some great advice to follow.

Image

 

Leave a comment